Young Georgia Authors

Our Hall County School District student writers have represented our school system in outstanding fashion in the Pioneer RESA Regional Young Georgia Authors Writing Competition!

Out of the 13 grade-level contests, HCSD had three regional winners. Each of these students won the grade-level district competition and then competed with grade-level winners from the 15 school systems in the Pioneer RESA Region: Banks, Dawson, Fannin, Franklin, Gainesville City, Habersham, Hall, Hart, Lumpkin, Mountain Education Charter High School, Rabun, Stephens, Towns, Union, and White County.

Student submissions can be short stories, poetry, essays, journals, personal narratives, reports, or other original student writing, and they are judged on the four domains in the Georgia Performance Standards: Ideas, organization, cohesiveness, and language.
The Young Georgia Authors Writing Competition, sponsored by the Georgia Council of Teachers of English, is open to students in grades kindergarten through 12th. Hall County’s Regional winning writing entries will now move on to the state-level competition for the final round of judging. They are:

1st Grade / Mt. Vernon / Annalise Williams / Robin Rescue
7th Grade / North Hall Middle / Jake Eaton / Journey
8th Grade / DVA/SHMS/ Jocelyn Meza / El Norte

Laurie Ecke, Assistant Director of Innovative and Advanced Programs, stated, “Students become authors when they are free to write what no one else can say. Their writing springs from their unique experiences while communicating something universal. We are grateful for the parents and teachers who inspire these young writers and are proud that they so well represent Hall County Schools.”

Please see attached pictures.


MVES, Pictured: Principal Jennifer Westbrook, YGA Regional Winner Annalise Williams, 1st Grade Teacher Kaitlin Smith

NHMS, Pictured: Principal Tamara Etterling, YGA Regional Winner Jake Eaton, 7th Grade Teacher Shelia Burruss

SHMS/DVA, Pictured: 8th Grade Teacher Lyndrid Patterson, YGA Regional Winner Jocelyn Meza, SHMS Principal Paula Stubbs