Seven HCSD Graduating Seniors Named 2019 Georgia Scholars

The Georgia Department of Education recognized graduating seniors from schools across Georgia as 2019 Georgia Scholars, and seven of those scholars are from Hall County Schools.

The students listed below have been named 2019 Georgia Scholars:

High School Georgia Scholar
Cherokee Bluff High School Savannah Lunt
Chestatee High School Trent Rayburn
Chestatee High School Cuong Tran
Flowery Branch High School Keegan Vaughn
Johnson High School Lauren Heighton
Johnson High School Samuel Corbett-Rogacki
North Hall High School Maximiliano Hernandez

Through the Georgia Scholar program, the Georgia Department of Education identifies and honors high school seniors who have achieved excellence in school and community life. Students eligible for Georgia Scholar recognition are high school seniors who exhibit excellence in all phases of school life, in community activities, and in the home.

Georgia Scholars are students who have carried exemplary course loads during their four years of high school; who performed excellently in all courses; who successfully participated in interscholastic events at their schools and in their communities; and who have assumed active roles in extracurricular activities sponsored by their schools. Each Georgia Scholar receives a seal for his or her diploma.

“The 2019 Georgia Scholars exemplify our mission of educating the whole child,” Superintendent Woods said. “They are well-rounded students who have engaged with a wide array of educational opportunities – from traditional classroom learning to community service. I congratulate each of these students and wish them well as they embark on their next steps after high school.”

The program is coordinated by GaDOE’s Excellence Recognition office and through local coordinators in each public school system and private schools throughout the state.

The Hall County School Board will be recognizing these students at the May 20 Board Meeting. We are very proud of our seven outstanding seniors who have been named 2019 Georgia Scholars!