Spout Springs Principal Receives National Recognition

Wellness Coordinator Tom Adam, Principal Arlene Thomas, AHA Representative Scott Cooper, and BOE Member Brian Sloan

Principal Arlene Thomas of Spout Springs Elementary was recognized by the Hall County School Board and the American Heart Association as the 2017 National Administrator of the Year. She is the first administrator from Hall County to receive this distinction.

The American Heart Association (and the SHAPE America initiative) works with over 40,000 administrators across the nation every year to promote healthy life choices among their students and faculties.

Mrs. Thomas was selected because of all of the outstanding initiatives that Spout Springs had done throughout the year to make the school a model of wellness, from food choices in the lunchroom to fitness activities in both the gym and classrooms. The recognition occurred at the August 28, 2017 business meeting of the board.